About the Mission

Mission of Switzerland  to the United Nations Office and to  the other international organisations in Geneva
Mission of Switzerland to the United Nations Office and to the other international organisations in Geneva. © FDFA

The Permanent Mission of Switzerland to the United Nations Office and to the other international organisations in Geneva, better known to most people as the “Swiss Mission”, is the responsibility of Ambassador Valentin Zellweger, Permanent Representative of Switzerland to the United Nations Office and to the international organisations in Geneva. The Swiss Mission is the body representing the host country in its relations with the international organisations and other permanent representative bodies. It has a dual role:

Multilateral Division

The Multilateral Division defends Switzerland's interests at the international organizations and institutions of International Geneva. It has four thematic sections:

-    Global Affairs

-    Humanitarian Affairs

-    Human rights

-    Disarmament.

The Multilateral Division works closely with the competent federal authorities to define, defend and promote Switzerland's priorities in the various international organizations, as well as to ensure the development and implementation of the decisions taken by these institutions.

Among these priorities is Switzerland's commitment to a strong and effective multilateralism that is able to respond to global challenges. Switzerland submits reform proposals to increase efficiency and promotes synergies between the various Geneva-based institutions.

In addition to international organizations, the Multilateral Division maintains and develops links with NGOs, the private sector, academia and think tanks. These different actors all contribute to the work of International Geneva and participate in the development of new and more inclusive forms of governance.

The Head of the Multilateral Division is also the Permanent Representative of Switzerland to the Conference on Disarmament (CD), the only permanent multilateral disarmament negotiating forum, which makes Geneva the main global platform for disarmament and arms control. Numerous disarmament instruments (Biological Weapons Convention, Arms Trade Treaty, Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention) and actors active in this field are established there.

Host Country Division

The Host State Division contributes to strengthening Geneva as a centre of global governance. It fosters the development of the hosting and working conditions of the international public service community, adapting them to changes in the multilateral system. It has three thematic sections: 

-    Privileges and Immunities

-    Security and General Affairs

-    Real estate and framework conditions 

The Swiss Mission also serves as a diplomatic channel, within the meaning of the 1961 Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations and the headquarters agreements, between the permanent missions and international organisations and the Swiss authorities. 

The Swiss Mission is actively supported by the authorities of the cantons of Geneva and Vaud as well as the City of Geneva. Its direct partners are mainly: 

-    the Presidential Department of the Canton of Geneva

-    the External Relations Service of the City of Geneva

-    the Office of External Affairs of the Canton of Vaud 

The Centre d'Accueil de la Genève Internationale (CAGI), created in 1996 by the Confederation and the State of Geneva, is also a direct partner of the Swiss mission. The CAGI aims to orient members of the international community working and living in the Geneva region and to contribute to their integration into the local community.

A propos de la Mission

Mission de la Suisse  auprès de l’Office des Nations Unies et  des autres organisations internationales à Genève
Mission de la Suisse auprès de l’Office des Nations Unies et des autres organisations internationales à Genève © DFAE

La Mission permanente de la Suisse auprès de l’Office des Nations Unies et des autres organisations internationales à Genève, plus connue dans le public sous le nom de «Mission suisse», est placée sous la responsabilité de l’Ambassadeur Valentin Zellweger, Représentant permanent de la Suisse auprès de l’Office des Nations Unies et des autres organisations internationales à Genève. La Mission suisse est la représentation officielle du Pays hôte auprès des organisations internationales et des représentations permanentes. Le rôle de la Mission suisse est double:

Division Multilatérale

La Division multilatérale défend les intérêts de la Suisse auprès des 41 organisations et institutions internationales de la Genève internationale. Elle compte quatre sections thématiques : 

  • Affaires globales

  •  Affaires humanitaires

  • Droits de l’homme

  • Désarmement. 

La division multilatérale travaille étroitement avec les autorités fédérales compétentes pour définir, défendre et promouvoir les priorités de la Suisse dans les différentes organisations internationales, ainsi qu’à veiller au développement et à la mise en œuvre des décisions prises par ces institutions.

Parmi ces priorités, il y a l’engagement de la Suisse en faveur d’un multilatéralisme solide et efficace, à même de répondre aux défis mondiaux. La Suisse soumet des propositions de réformes destinées à accroître l’efficacité et encourage les synergies entre les différentes institutions installées à Genève.

Outre les organisations internationales, la division multilatérale mantient et développe les liens avec les quelque 750 ONGs, le secteur privé, le monde académique et les think tanks. Ces différents acteurs apportent tous leur contribution au travail de la Genève internationale et participent à l’élaboration de nouvelles formes de gouvernance plus inclusives.

Le chef de la division multilatérale est aussi le Représentant permanent de la Suisse auprès de la Conférence du désarmement (CD), le seul forum multilatéral permanent de négociation sur le désarmement, qui fait de Genève la principale plateforme globale de désarmement et de maîtrise des armements. De nombreux instruments de désarmement (Convention sur l’interdiction des armes biologiques, Traité sur le commerce des armes, Convention sur l’interdiction des mines antipersonnel) et d’acteurs actifs dans ce domaine y sont établis.

Division Etat Hôte

Division Etat Hôte

La division Etat hôte contribue à renforcer Genève comme centre de gouvernance mondiale. Elle favorise le développement des conditions d’accueil et de travail de la communauté du service public international, en les adaptant aux évolutions du système multilatéral. Elle compte trois sections thématiques :

  • Privilèges et immunités

  • Sécurité et affaires générales

  • Affaires immobilières et conditions cadres

La Mission suisse sert aussi de canal diplomatique, au sens de la Convention de Vienne de 1961 sur les relations diplomatiques et des accords de siège, entre les missions permanentes et les organisations internationales et les autorités suisses.

La Mission suisse est activement soutenue par les autorités des cantons de Genève et Vaud ainsi que de la Ville de Genève. Ses partenaires directes sont principalement : 

  • le département présidentiel du canton de Genève

  • le Service des relations extérieures de la Ville de Genève

  • l’Office des affaires extérieures du canton de Vaud

Le Centre d’Accueil de la Genève Internationale (CAGI), créé en 1996 par la Confédération et l’Etat de Genève, est aussi un partenaire direct de la mission suisse. Le CAGI a pour objectif d’orienter les membres de la communauté internationale travaillant et résidant dans la région genevoise et de contribuer à leur intégration dans la communauté locale.