Strategy – Central Asia

Swiss bilateral engagement with the Central Asian countries Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan dates back to early 1990s. Since independence, those countries are undergoing a continuous process of political, social and economic transformation. Considerable challenges still exist: creating sustainable and inclusive economic growth, building pluralistic societies, providing health and other public services to all citizens and managing water resources among the riparian states. The Swiss Cooperation Strategy for Central Asia 2017-2021 was developed by the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) and the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) in close consultation with partners in the three countries – both official and from the civil society. It is a renewed commitment for the ongoing Swiss support for the political, social and economic transition process in the Central Asian region. Switzerland has also been collaborating with central Asian countries at the multilateral level, representing Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan in the Executive Boards at the World Bank Group (WBG), as well as Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan in the Executive Board the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD).

Full text of the Swiss Cooperation Strategy Cental Asia 2017-2021 (PDF, 4.1 MB, English)