Gustav Rivinius and the Anima Musicae Chamber Orchestra

Friday, 03.05.2019 – Wednesday, 03.04.2019

© Gustav Rivinius

When an outstanding soloist plays with the orchestra, the energy is considerably multiplied.
Focusing on the three world-famous musicians, Gustav Rivinius cellist, Alexander Sitkovetsky and David Grimal violinists, Anima Musicae Chamber Orchestra’s new concert series, Anima³ will be organised at Budapest Music Center’s stage.

Having the prestigious title of „National Youth Orchestra” for the years 2018-2020, the guest artists play with the orchestra for the first time.

Gustav Rivinius is the first and only German musician to be awarded a first prize Gold Medal at the 1990 International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow. Among the many high points of an illustrious career, Gustav Rivinius has performed with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Lorin Maazel, Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Vaclav Neumann, London Philharmonia under Heinrich Schiff, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Marek Janowski.

Along with his solo work, Gustav Rivinius has a passion for chamber music. Having been born into a large musical family, he plays regularly alongside his brothers in the Rivinius Piano Quartet and does recitals with his brother Paul at the piano. He participated for years in a quintet with Irena Grafenauer, Maria Graf, Ana Chumachenco and Gérard Caussé.

The musician also founded the Gasparo da Saló Trio, the Arkas Trio, the Bartholdy String Quintet and the Tammuz Piano Quartet.

Gustav Rivinius is a professor at the HFM University of Music in Saarbrucken where he oversees a highly successful cello class. He also teaches at the Conservatorium Maastricht (The Netherlands) from autumn 2014 on, and at a number of masters courses annually.

Arthur Honegger: Hymn, H. 33
Othmar Schoeck: Concerto for Cello and String Orchestra, Op. 61


Witold Lutosławski: Musique funèbre 'In memoriam Béla Bartók'
Béla Bartók: Divertimento, Sz. 113


Gustav Rivinius – violoncello

Anima Musicae Chamber Orchestra

Artistic Director: László G. Horváth


Tickets are available for 3000 HUF on the spot, online and at InterTicket Jegypont partners across Hungary. Student and Pensioner Ticket: 2000 HUF

Next concerts of the season: 20 May and 8 June



Location: Budapest Music Center (1093 Budapest Mátyás utca 8.)